“It’s not too good is it, Chief?”

Jaws

God bless AMC.  That’s not really meant to be a religious statement, just one of appreciation.

While their TV shows carry their own prestige (personally I haven’t been too impressed outside of Breaking Bad), it’s the quality of movies they run that keeps me watching.  Almost any time of day I can tune in and something watchable is most assuredly on.

I remember one morning I caught Caddyshack followed by Commando.  Now that was a good Tuesday.  I had Apple Jacks, as I recall.

But that’s beside the point.

What is the point is that they’ve started running Retro Thursday marathons.  Last week was the Rocky series.  This week/today is the Jaws series.

And Jaws is one of my favorite films.  It’s possibly the best summer blockbuster ever made, and that’s pretty impressive considering it’s arguably the first.  It’s one of the most famous movies in history.  If you haven’t seen the movie, you’ve definitely heard of it or at least seen the poster.

Everybody’s talked about it.  So I won’t.  At least not now.

The movies not nearly as many people talk about are the sequels.

A surprising number of people don’t even know there were Jaws sequels.  And what fascinates me is how quickly the series nosedives into unparalleled levels of mediocrity.

So for the next few days I’ll be investigating Jaws 2, Jaws 3 and Jaws: The Revenge.

And then finally I’ll talk about what I think is the true sequel to Jaws.  If you think it’s going to be Sharknado, please leave.

 

Coming soon:

328482

Leave a Reply

